Kailan Dunn Elected Chairman of WAEF

Rachel Sullivan was thanked for her leadership as chairman of the      WAEF Board of Directors

Rachel Sullivan was thanked for her leadership as chairman of the
WAEF Board of Directors

Earlier this month WAEF board members held their annual meeting at Central Washington University. The exciting news of $1 million in scholarships awarded in a single year stole the day's news but other meaningful activities were still on the agenda.

Former WAEF scholarship recipient Kailan Dunn was elected chairman of the foundation. Kailan was a WAEF student from 2003 to 2006. Soon after graduation Kailan joined the scholarship committee at WAEF and got involved in WAEF fundraising events. He was elected to the board of directors in 2012 and has served as secretary and vice-chairman of the board. Kailan is currently employed at HR Spinner in Yakima.

Kailan shared with the board that the priorities he has established for the year include growing the vocational scholarship program, sustaining $1 million in annual scholarships, engaging WAEF alumni and formalizing a role for the Counselors Roundtable.

Kailan's first action was to recognize outgoing chairman Rachel Sullivan for her outstanding leadership over the past year. She was recognized for her efforts to help the foundation achieve the one million dollar milestone but also for her capabilities leading board meetings and setting a high standard for board service.

Other elections occurring during the meeting: James Foreman, Wenatchee, was elected vice-chairman, Dwaine Brown, Selah, reelected as treasurer and Bob Mast, Wenatchee, elected as secretary. Dwaine Brown and Brian Alegria, Yakima, were reelected to serve three years terms on the board of directors.

Committee chairmen elected at the meeting were: Dan Plath, Investment Committee; Dwaine Brown, Audit Committee; Jeff Fagg, Strategic Planning Committee; Cory Groves, Scholarship Committee; Ruth Pringle, Farmworker Education Committee; Frank Davis, Student Stewardship Committee; and James Foreman, Resource Development Committee.

Outgoing board member Welcome Sauer was recognized with Year of the Apple artwork  

Outgoing board member Welcome Sauer was recognized with Year of the Apple artwork 

Welcome Sauer was thanked for his service to the foundation.  Welcome was electedto the board of directors in 2013.  He served on the scholarship selection committee and was a champion of the vocational/technical scholarship program.  

Annual Audit

Directors approved the 2015 audited financial statements and 990 tax forms, each prepared by CliftonLarsonAllen. The audited financial statements received an "unmodified" or clean opinion by the auditors.  Tax Report  Financial Statements 

Scholarship Report

Chairman Cory Groves and Scholarship Program Coordinator Jose Hernandez presented the preliminary list of scholarship recipients for review and approval by the board of directors. Discussion regarding the new vocational scholarship program occurred with the general consensus that members were pleased with growth in 2016 and have high expectations for future growth.

Scholarship Luncheon

Members got an update on the annual scholarship celebration luncheons scheduled for late July in Wenatchee and early August in Yakima. This year's keynote speaker is Pete Perez, Wahitis Elementary School (Othello) principal. Guests will also hear from current year WAEF graduates Nancy Leyva and Jenna Bjur.  Scholarship Luncheons 

2017 Focus

Directors worked in small groups to begin establishing specific goals for 2017. Discussion areas included overall growth of the foundation, scholarship program performance, individual efforts of board members related to new donor recruitment, stewardship and meeting attendance, maintaining balance between unrestricted and restricted income and expenses and role of technical/vocational scholarships in overall mix of awards.