Team WAEF@Bloomsday to Award $4500 in Scholarships

            Wenatchee, Wash…  The Washington Apple Education Foundation will award three additional scholarships this spring thanks to efforts of its Team WAEF@Bloomsday fundraiser. Team WAEF members are supporters and current and former scholarship recipients of the WAEF.  Each member of Team WAEF raises pledges to support scholarships in conjunction with Spokane’s Bloomsday 12k run occurring today in Spokane. 

            15 individuals are part of Team WAEF this year.  This is the fifth year for the WAEF to organize the effort. 

            Scholarships will be awarded on behalf of the largest student and corporate fundraisers participating on Team WAEF.  At its pre-run team dinner last night, it was announced that Elena Calderon, a former WAEF scholarship recipient and graduate of Wahluke High School (Mattawa, WA), was the top student fundraiser raising nearly $1000 in pledges.  A scholarship in her name will be awarded to a graduating senior from Wahluke High School this spring. Yuriana Garcia Tellez, a current WAEF scholarship recipient and graduate of Royal High School (Royal City, WA) was second in raising pledges.  A scholarship in her name will be awarded to a Royal High School senior.

            Rabo AgriFinance was the top corporate fundraising group raising over $2500 in pledges.  An award in their name will be made this year by WAEF.  In addition to Rabo AgriFinance, employees of Northwest Farm Credit Service and CoBank were also active in raising funds as part of Team WAEF@Bloomsday.

            2015 Team WAEF@Bloomsday members include: Brian & Buffy Alegria (Yakima), Susan & David Barnes (Spokane), Elena Calderon (Mattawa), Yuriana Garcia Tellez (Royal City), Mark Nonnemacher (Spokane), Chuck & Sheri Olsen (Spokane), Mallory Shindler (Prosser), Jeremy VanderVegt (Richland), Lindy Widner (Kennewick), Jay & Jennifer Witherbee (Chelan), and Xochitl Velazquez (Spokane).

            Team WAEF@Bloomsday members run/walk the 12k Bloomsday event in Spokane this morning.  Scholarships are awarded later this month when schools hold their annual senior awards ceremonies.